Home >  Games >  Puzzle Games >  Speed Reading

Speed Reading

Categories:  Puzzle Games

Speed Reading is an event which is a bit like a school comprehension test at the end of the book. But you do get the opportunity to be one of the first people to read a new book ‘Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows’ was used for the last World Championship.

If you can read over a 1000 words a minute for the whole book and still remember what you have read you might give Anne Jones a run for her money.


This event is done using a book in English. An unpublished book is given to each of the competitors to read and then once they have finished the book or after a maximum time a comprehension test is given to allow the readers to demonstrate that they have fully read the book. This is then used to calculate a score that is used to determine the winner of the competition.

You can find out about opportunities to play Speed Reading live at the timetable. Please report any external links that have broken or have changed to contain inappropriate material. More information about how tournament play works can be found in clocks and in MSO rules.

MSO Speed Reading Champions

2005 Bethan Alys Ruddock England Olympiad Champion
2004 Anne Jones England World Champion
2003 Anne Jones England World Champion
2001 Anne Jones England Olympiad Champion
2000 Anne Jones England World Champion
1999 Anne Jones England World Champion
1998 Anne Jones England World Champion
1997 Anne Jones England World Champion

Full results and other winners can be found in Results.

MSO Speed Reading Ranked Players:


  Anne Jones


  Andrew Havery, Benjamin Crowne, Bethan Alys Ruddock, Kenneth Wilshire



External Links