Home >  Games >  Poker >  Canadian Stud

Canadian Stud

Categories:  Poker

Canadian stud is a five card version of poker where all but one of your cards can be seen. This makes it a high skill version of the game to play although there is a lot of luck to avoid the forced bet for having the worst hand. Four card flushes and four card straights are added to the normal hand evaluation and come between one pair and two pair in the hand ranks.


A variant of five-card stud. You get dealt two cards (the first face-down, the second face-up) after which there is a betting round. You then get dealt three additional face-up cards, one at a time followed by another round of betting. In this form of poker, there are two extra recognized hands: 4 straight and 4 flush, these are added to the standard order valued higher than 1 pair but lower than 2 pair. Four flushes are worth more than 4 straights (there is no 4 straight flush!)

You can find out about opportunities to play Canadian Stud live at the timetable. Please report any external links that have broken or have changed to contain inappropriate material. More information about how tournament play works can be found in clocks and in MSO rules.

MSO Poker (Canadian Stud) Champions

2012 Tony Niccoli Italy Olympiad Champion
2011 Andres Kuusk Estonia Olympiad Champion
2010 Andres Kuusk Estonia Olympiad Champion
2009 Kenneth Wilshire Wales Olympiad Champion
2008 Tige Nnando England Olympiad Champion
2007 Martyn Hamer England Olympiad Champion
2006 Mathew Cordell England Olympiad Champion
2005 Kevin Stebbing England Olympiad Champion
2004 Kevin Stebbing England Olympiad Champion
2003 Tige Nnando England Olympiad Champion
2002 Francine Brandler USA Olympiad Champion
2001 Paul Meek England Olympiad Champion
2000 Ben Player England Olympiad Champion
1999 John Clark England Olympiad Champion

Full results and other winners can be found in Results.

MSO Poker - Canadian Stud Ranked Players:


  Kevin Stebbing, Tige Nnando


  David Pearce, John Clark, Kenneth Ho, Martyn Hamer, Mathew Cordell


  Andrew Havery, George Hassabis

External Links